Wes Anderson’s Upcoming Flick

On March 7th, director Wes Anderson will release his latest film to theaters, The Grand Budapest Hotel. The story follows Gustave H., a concierge at a well-known European hotel between the wars. It revolves around the gradual friendship of Mr. Gustave and his lobby boy, Zero. Among his shenanigans, he finds himself suspected of murder and in a whirlwind of odd trouble. The film is a comedy-drama that some critics have dubbed, “a tale within a tale, within another tale.” I am personally not familiar with many Wes Anderson movies. Actually, I have not seen one of his films, so I will most definitely be skeptical with this film. I don’t know this director’s imaginative possibilities. The trailer for Grand Budapest Hotel seems odd, but it’s that odd that makes you curious. I cannot go without mentioning the long list of actors in it. Ralph Fiennes plays the elegant and witty, M. Gustave. Alongside him are Edward Norton, Adrien Brody, Tilda Swinton, Jude Law, Bill Murray, Owen Wilson, and a few more names.

Illustrated poster for The Grand Budapest Hotel

Illustrated poster for The Grand Budapest Hotel

The most recent poster for the movie was released earlier this week, and it is by far the coolest thing I’ve seen this week, I will admit. This is a film that has gained a lot of anticipation from Anderson fans, and fans of all movies. It was the film that kicked off this year’s Berlinale Film Festival in Germany, and is thought to be Anderson’s most intriguing film to date. This 1930’s set dram-com will either confuse you or delight you; there is no in between. The creative and different angle that Wes Anderson took may not appeal to the masses (your usual moviegoer). Take a look for yourself. This clip goes into some detail of the ironic plot, and features commentary from the actors on their roles. Hope Grand Budapest Hotel is as unique as I’ve heard.


7 thoughts on “Wes Anderson’s Upcoming Flick

  1. markkadams says:

    Based on the preview, I’m not expecting much. Wes Anderson is iffy — he’s made some great movies, and some not-so-great movies. His best I think is still Rushmore.

    Like

  2. thomasjford says:

    I’m so excited for this as I’m a huge Wes fan. Unfortunately (or should I say fortunately) my
    Wife just gave birth last week so I’ll doubt I’ll get a chance to see it in the cinema. A DVD job but i can’t wait!

    Like

Leave a Reply

