Film Review- New York, I Love You (2008)

New York, I Love You is one of those anthology films made with a few directors, and plenty of actors. From the producers of anthology favorite, Paris Je t’aime, this film takes place in New York (hence the name), and follows several stories of love, misfortune, and realization in the lives of New Yorkers. I must share that this is one of my favorite films. As a lover of city life and romance films, I found something quite interesting from this movie. I have to admit that there are “shorts films,” within it that I would rather skip, having seen it five times. In this compilation of New York life, a couple of the stories did not capture my attention.

The film stars Natalie Portman, Ethan Hawke, Bradley Cooper, Robin Wright, Maggie Q, Orlando Bloom, Hayden Christensen, Shia LaBeouf, Chris Cooper, and more! When I first saw the trailer for this film, the cast itself drew me in (not to mention Phoenix’s song “1901”). I will tell you that my absolute favorite two clips in the entire movie were directed by the same director, Yvan Attal. Both of his stories involved a couple of people smoking out on the streets and having thought-provoking conversations with one another. Ethan Hawke stars in one of these two, and oddly, I enjoy Hawke taking on the role of an ivy cap-wearing writer.

This collaboration of storytelling has its parts of sweetness, and sometimes captures our core. As I’ve said, some stories may come off somewhat poor or difficult to grasp, but there’s always a next one coming up, and that’s what kept me going. I love this film as a whole, considering the well played stories thrown there. These films with so many stories, some transitioning into another, can be really fascinating to watch. I’ll pretty much watch any movie filmed on location in big New York. Paris Je t’aime came out in 2006 and I have yet to see this other anthology film set in Paris, of course. I’ve heard that one is quite beautiful, so let me know what you guys think about New York, I Love You or if you recommend any films as these. Now, excuse me while I go watch the Oscars!

One thought on “Film Review- New York, I Love You (2008)

Leave a Reply

