Film Review- The Odd Couple (1968)

Well, hot damn! I’m finally getting to this post. Took long enough to sit down and have no other educational/work related priorities buzzin around in  my mind. So let’s get to it! This film is something special to me. It’s a type of comedy I like that I hardly watch anymore. I know it’s been applauded as one of the greatest broadway plays, but I won’t touch on the translation from stage to film. What strikes me about The Odd Couple is the hardcore chemistry. Straight from the beginning, it’s so darn funny. Jack Lemmon and Walter Matthau are a comedy match made in heaven. Been watching their films for years. Watching them honestly makes me wanna grab an Old Fashioned and take my shoes off!

Directed by Gene Saks, this movie starts off with newly heartbroken Felix Ungar (Lemmon) roaming the streets and bars miserable. He’s got a divorce comin and he’s contemplating suicide. Feeling worthless in every sense of the word, he accepts the last minute offer to move in with his best pal, sloppy Oscar Madison (Matthau)! Soon enough though Felix is driving Oscar nuts with his extensive house cleaning and tidy maintenance. Whatever happened to this place? It used to be an apartment where beer cans and bread crumbs roamed free on the carpet, and there was no such thing as cooking! Well, Felix’s persistence only grew as messy (but lovable) ole’ Oscar’s tolerance diminished. He can’t kick the poor guy out. What if he finds the twelfth floor and jumps?! But everything is so heart-warming in the film. Oscar tries and tries to make Felix look up and move on. They’ve both got failed marriages on their plate, but they have nothing to lose with a little optimism. It’s all so funny, of course. Because what are we if we can’t laugh at our own life hurdles.. right? Maybe.

ODDCOUPLEGIFEvery night at the apartment with these two is a laugh. Even the phrase “the odd couple,” has become a big part of the English language, represented in all areas of media and marketing! It’s odd because I can only name a handful of folks I personally know who would appreciate a movie like this. There’s never a movie too old to laugh at. At least that’s what I think. One thing I adore is the gratitude Lemmon and Matthau have for their roles.

Matthau once said, “Every actor looks all his life for a part that will combine his talents with his personality… ‘The Odd Couple’ was mine. That was the plutonium I needed. It all started happening after that.”  

Lemmon once said, “I think whatever you do, if you are going to do well or even if you don’t do it well, you have to have a passion for it, and I am passionate about it. I love it. I respect it and it gets me. I get off on acting.”

One of my favorite Oscar lines is, “You leave me little notes on my pillow. Told you 158 times I can’t stand little notes on my pillow. “We’re all out of cornflakes. F.U.” Took me three hours to figure out F.U. was Felix Ungar!” 🙂 *slaps knee hysterically* And so I leave you with this: My grandma will always say, “They’re up there cracking jokes in Heaven now..,” with a smirk on her face. And this is how I grew to love the duo; as a kid watching their films my grandparents loved. One of the best memories right there. Anyhow, it’s midnight, and I don’t wanna keep you all up with my words tonight. The weekend’s been busy for this chica. Adios!

Leave a Reply

