Playlist Bliss: Coconut Skins

I’m not sure if you guys have heard of indie singer-songwriter Damien RIce. He was born in Celbridge, County Kildare, Ireland and his songs have been featured in films such as Closer (2004), Stay (2005), and In Good Company (2004).

I believe he will be touring around Europe this summer. I have loved his music ever since “The Blower’s Daughter” was featured in Closer. Which reminds me that I need to do a review on that stunning film. Anyhow, a song of Rice’s that will always take me to another place is called “Coconut Skins.” I guess I can go ahead and say that it’s my favorite Damien Rice song. And since I love telling you guys about what’s on my playlist, I hope you will enjoy a nice little song right now over a tea or whatever you fancy nowadays.

It would fall under the category of indie/folk so it is very easy on the ears if you’re trying to unwind. And with many indie folk tunes, I enjoy the words the songwriters chose for this tempo, and so I went ahead and pasted the lyrics below if you wanna read along! Let me know if you guys enjoyed the song or maybe comment your favorite Damien Rice tune and we can fangirl together.

You can hold her hand
And show her how you cry
Explain to her your weakness
So she understands
And then roll over and die

You can brave decisions
Before you crumble up inside
Spend your time asking everyone else’s permission
Then run away and hide

Or you can sit on chimneys
Put some fire up your ass
No need to know what you’re doing or waiting for
But if anyone should ask
Tell them I’ve been licking coconut skins
And we’ve been hanging out
Tell them God just dropped by to forgive our sins
And relieve us our doubt
La la la la la la la…

Oh you can hold her eggs
But your basket has a hole
You can lie between her legs and go looking for
Tell her you’re searching for her soul
You can wait for ages
Watch your compost turn to coal
Time is contagious
Everybody’s getting old

So you can sit on chimneys
Put some fire up your ass
No need to know what you’re doing or looking for
But if anyone should ask
Tell them I’ve been cooking coconut skins
And we’ve been hanging out
Tell them God just dropped by to forgive our sins
And relieve us our doubt
La la la la la la la…

Leave a Reply

