Makeup Review- It Cosmetics / Too Faced

Another new installment to the categories! Yes, I know you beauty gurus out there will appreciate this post. I’ve been toying with a lot of new makeup lately, and I’ve been wanting to share my input with the world on certain products for quite some time now. I hit up my local Ulta and Sephora stores a couple times a month. I’ve realized that Ulta is super amazing with varieties and monthly deals. This time around, I’ve been using a couple of products from the It Cosmetics line and a foundation from the Too Faced line.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

It Cosmetics !!!

I’ll start off talking about the It Cosmetics products. This first product is one of my holy grail foundations. It’s a cc cream, sunscreen, moisturizer, primer, serum, and foundation all in one! I was shopping at Ulta one morning and I was browsing through the It Cosmetics stands and was totally intrigued with the

Your Skin But Better™ CC Cream with SPF 50+

Right off the bat, the packaging of the tube is really hygienic and gorgeous. It has a silver pump to it and each pump of product goes a long way. This CC cream/foundation/serum applies on so easily. It is definitely a medium coverage liquid. It’s not too heavy in consistency and it also smells pretty nice! It’s like a lemon cake scent. Not overbearing, but pleasant.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

It Cosmetics Your Skin But Better CC Cream in Medium

It claims to improve skin texture, brightness and increase skin hydration by 79%. It’s a paraben-free product and formulated with a lot of good-for-your-skin ingredients. The coverage is pretty great. It gives such a natural look to your skin, with a slight glow. Not even dewy, I think. I was so skeptical with the finish because I have combination skin and usually if a foundation sets dewy, I’ll be a little slick by noontime. Those that set a natural or satin finish are a go for me. That being said, I think this could work out for people with dry skin, combo skin, and probably oily skin, to be honest. It doesn’t look shiny throughout my day, and if you set it with a powder, you shouldn’t have a problem! I don’t set mine with a powder, because what I do is apply my primer or moisturizer, apply a good two layers on and make sure to blend it out well and I’ll be set all day. I use the Real Techniques face blender for it, but I’m gonna try and see how it applies with fingers.

It barely even transfers and it is so lightweight!! I think that’s my favorite aspect of it. It doesn’t feel like you’re wearing some heavy foundation. It will last me a good while. The only con I could think of for this cc cream foundation is the price tag… It retails at $38 on their website and at Ulta. I’m gonna say that it is so worth it. You need to experience this! But really, it’s worth it and if not, you can always return stuff! Hallelujah! I wear this product especially on days where I don’t really have anything to do or days I’m just running errands. It’s kind to the skin and I believe it is improving my skin, even if it’s just a little bit. I’m always seeing people praise this product and I completely understand whyyyyy! By the way, they’re cruelty free!

Throughout their line, It Cosmetics doesn’t offer a wide range of skin tones. This can be good or bad because what the products also claim is that they adjust to your skin tone. If you’re stuck between Light and Medium, they recommend to go with Medium and let the foundation adjust to your own color. Medium is the shade I use for their stuff and it fits really well. So that may be something to ponder over with them. My next It Cosmetics product is the

CC+™ Veil Beauty Fluid Foundation SPF 50+

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

It Cosmetics CC+ Veil Beauty Fluid Foundation in Medium

This product is comparable to drugstore dupes like the Loreal True Match Lumi Cushion foundation. It comes in a little compact with the sponge cushion where the foundation is soaked in. It comes with the soft applicator as well. I guess you could say that it is less hygienic the way it’s packaged and it’s a little messier, but not by much. I’m going to be upfront and say that I’m not too fond of this one because it comes with 0.34 oz of product in the compact. Even the Loreal version of this idea has more liquid in it. Also, the price is still $38 for it, and it is borderline painful to keep it, but I do really like the coverage. It’s awesome and buildable. The finish to this is kind of luminous for sure. I feel like I make it work though with a powder to set it on top. This one really looks like it is covering your pores and your skin does look real smooth afterward. I would not repurchase for the price and amount. Wish they soaked in a whole ounce and then MAYBE we’ll talk. It just would not last me more than a couple weeks…

My next and last product for review today is by Too Faced. It is a foundation (another one). I found this product at my Sephora while shopping with my best friend. She had said that this one looked cakey on her face when the beauty adviser applied it on her once. So I went ahead and  tried it out on a patch of my face and it didn’t look bad so I thought maybe the adviser used the wrong application technique for the formula… it’s possible. I bough it and it’s amazing! It’s the

BORN THIS WAY Foundation

I’ve seen a lot of YouTube gurus rave about it and apply it on cam and they make it look so amazing. So that also weighed in on my purchase. This foundation is so silky. It leaves me with a satin finish. I find that I get a shiny tendency midday with this sucker. I figure I’ll start using blotting papers or maybe I’ll actually start setting it with a powder. Duh… Makeup is a trial and error love. But other than that, it’s pretty fabulous. It’s medium to full coverage and applies great by brush or sponge. My face has a nice natural highlight all over and the rest of my makeup sets great on top of it. It claims to make imperfections undetectable and make your skin feel like you were…. born this way. It contains coconut water, alpine rose, and hyaluronic acid to help smooth and brighten the skin.

I wear the color Natural Beige and it fits perfect to my skin tone. This foundation has a selection of eighteen shades so it has a decent variety. Finding your color is not hard. The formula is oil-free and skin can still breathe under the layer of makeup. I wouldn’t say it’s as lightweight as the It Cosmetics cc cream, but it’s up there with my favorite foundations!

That is it for my makeup review today! I’m going to try and do this bi-weekly or so, as with my other categories. I wish I was the type of person to just set up a YouTube channel, but I honestly don’t have the time (besides the fact that I’m pretty damn camera shy).Let me know if you’ve tried these products and if you liked them! Chau!

Leave a Reply

