Skincare Review- Dermalogica/ Peter Thomas Roth

Skin care regimens can be hard to adjust to and we don’t always buy what ends up working for our skin. Sometimes, though, we find our holy grail skin care products and that’s exactly why I’m posting this today! Are the two products I’m about to show you “high end”? Sort of. One closer to affordable than the other. I’ll be talking about my face wash routine that (for now) includes the Peter Thomas Roth Irish Moor Mud Purifying Gel Cleanser and the Dermalogica Skin Smoothing Cream.

So for almost a month now I’ve been using the Peter Thomas Roth Irish Moor Mud cleanser every night and some mornings (if I remember). This cleanser has a gel texture that lathers very lightly and does so well at removing my makeup. When cleaning around the eyes though, it irritates a while after if you accidentally get some in there. But of course, be careful around the eyes.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Peter Thomas Roth Irish Moor Mud Gel Cleanser

So this cleanser claims to purify and decongest skin, remove and dissolve pore-clogging oils and impurities, and help to smooth your skin’s texture with its anti-aging properties. Immediately, I notice that it’s cleaning so well as I lather and massage it into my face. It literally felt squeaky clean. Once washed off and pat dried, my skin feels a little tight, still smooth, but tight. Also, it doesn’t feel dry at all, but with  a tight feel to the face, a moisturizer is essential. After you moisturize, the skin feels amazingly refreshed and smooth.

Again, I use it every night before bed and I use the Dermalogica Skin Smoothing Cream in conjunction with it as my moisturizer of choice. The Peter Thomas Roth cleanser is not so high end but costs more than your average cleanser. It retails for $38 at Ulta and $12 for a little travel size bottle.  The Dermalogica smoothing cream is a medium weight cream that can be used as a daily moisturizer.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Dermalogica line (left to right) Dynamic Skin Recovery, Super Rich Repair, Skin Smoothing Cream

Ingredients include lecithin, aloe gel, mallow, cucumber and arnica. It also contains antioxidant grape seed extract plus vitamins A, C and E. A little goes a long way with it! It sets my skin for the night after my face wash. I only use Dermalogica at night because I feel like it leaves my skin clean, but a little sensitive after use. Like most things, I like to just sleep on it. It spreads well on the face and the tube can last you a long time. It has a mild medicinal scent but nothing terrible.It moisturizes well by morning. It’s to be noted that it is considered clinical care and the product states that professional recommendation for the line is advised. So, you guessed it, the price tags are out of this world. I have a handful of Dermalogica products that I received as samples during my trips at Ulta.

I honestly won’t be buying more of them because one of their products are easily over $40. The Skin Smoothing Cream is priced at $64 for the regular 3.4 oz tube. I’m determined to continue use of the products I have. I’m hoping to start using the other two tubes and seeing how well they work. Let me know if you guys have used anything from both the Dermalogica and the Peter Thomas Roth lines!

One thought on “Skincare Review- Dermalogica/ Peter Thomas Roth

Leave a Reply

