Skincare Review- Clarisonic/ Neutrogena

Any hype you may have heard about Neutrogena’s new water gel moisturizer…is true! I have finally found the best moisturizer for my face that is super hydrating and literally feels like your face is drinking water. First off, I want to make it known that as far as makeup goes, the Neutrogena brand has never captivated me and just never worked out. Their skin care line is a hit or miss, in my opinion. Yea some of the moisturizers have moisturized my face, but then I get oily around noontime. So I’m going to break down my skincare routine that I’m doing lately…which includes two Neutrogena products!

Clarisonic Mia 1 Skin Cleansing System

cls-mia-pink-2t

Clarisonic Mia 1 Cleansing System in the shade ‘Pink’

I have grown to like my Clarisonic Mia 1 Skin Cleansing System. This electric facial brush really did irritate my skin for the first few times. Every time I used it, my face would get a breakout the next morning. I did my research and found that a lot of users do get this reaction from it. It seems as though it doesn’t work for some people but then it was amazing for others… I decided to store it away until I wanted to give it another go one day. I thought maybe it was the cleanser I was using. Who knows.. I started using it again, and I do believe my skin has gotten used to the brush as it moves in circular motions. It’s now my favorite thing to use to exfoliate my entire face. It does such a great job on my t-zone area and where I have more visible pores. It grinds the dirt out! I use this brush maybe five times a week when I wash my face. I use it with my daily face cleanser and also with my clinical face cleanser which I use about once a week. I’ll go ahead and mention my clinical cleanser. I’ve done a review on it already so I will link it. It is the Peter Thomas Roth Irish Moor Mud Gel Cleanser. This dark cleanser does so good at getting my make up off and even if I had used wipes to remove my make up prior, I can count on this cleanser to bring out any leftover foundation that was still lingering on my skin. Check out my review on it! Now I’ll move onto my main girl, the daily facial cleanser I use…

Neutrogena Healthy Skin Boosters Daily Gel Cleanser

This cleanser has been out for quite some time now. The only reason I bought it was because I was low on cleansers and it was on clearance at Walgreens. This cleanser from Neutrogena does a real decent job at cleaning my face out without it being too strong, as in, clinical strength. I use this cleanser daily with my Clarisonic brush. It retails between $7-$9 wherever you go. It claims to boost softness and radiance and contains white tea and vitamin e. It definitely boosts radiance because when I wash it all off and pat dry, I can see just how much brighter my skin looks. Skin is kept real smooth too. The pleasant tea scent is a plus too! It works well with sensitive skin as well. I have combination skin and it makes my face feel great. Now, after I wash my face with this cleanser, I usually apply moisturizer. If I don’t, my skin begins to feel a little tight. I always suggest you use a moisturizer even if your skin is combo to oily type. It is always good for your skin to feel naturally moisturized rather than leaving it dry after washing only to have it work double hard for the moisture and then end up leaving you oily. Moving onto what I use to set my freshly washed face…

Neutrogena Hydro Boost Water Gel

downloadProbably one of the best after wash moisturizers! Five stars. This water gel consistency is whipped and you think that it’s gonna go on oily or slimey, but… it goes on so smooth and blends into the pores effortlessly. After having washed the face, applying this on is what heaven must be like. It’s the smoothest my face has ever been. And the scent is not strong at all. It retails for around $20 at most stores and it contains 1.7 oz of product. A little goes a long way with this gel. I grab a dime size amount and rub it on my fingertips and apply and smooth it all over my face. I really can’t explain enough how amazing it feels. I first tried out a sample of it and it was no question that I had to grab that full size baby! I recommend this product. I have combination skin so I was uneasy about it at first. I am always worried that moisturizers will excel the oil production or make me too dewy. I have no worries with this one at all though. Again, it feels like my face is taking a nice drink of water as far as hydration. Here is a little goodness the product lists:

  • Purified Hyaluronic Acid- Naturally found in skin, it delivers pure boost of hydration. It acts like a sponge for dry skin cells, absorbing up to 1000 times its weight in water and progressively releases water back into skin, keeping skin hydrated and supple throughout the day.
  • Olive Extract- Known for its protective, moisturizing and anti-oxidant qualities, it is a complex combination for fatty acids, which is similar to skin’s natural moisture shield. It integrates into skin barrier, forming a structure that protects skin from excessive moisture loss. It also helps leave skin feeling soft and smooth without tackiness.

There you have it. It’s fast absorbing too. This is the real deal, and that is my skincare routine! Let me know if you guys have tried any of these products! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

