Playlist Bliss- WALLS

So if you know me in real life, you would know that I’m a huge Kings of Leon fan. Long time fan now and it astounds me that I haven’t written a piece on them yet…. Really, Jessica? But how does one write about their favorite stuff without rambling on? I’ll keep it simple today because if I decided to write an entire piece on my love for this band, we would be here all day. So maybe next time!

Today I’m writing a piece in Playlist Bliss highlighting what I’ve been listening to lately. Kings of Leon released their seventh studio album last year and have gone on tour in Europe and will actually be here in their hometown of Nashville, TN come September 29! OF COURSE YOUR GIRL IS GONNA BE THERE. Wouldn’t miss it… So, their title track “WALLS” comes to us with a feeling of heartache, longing, and defeat. The soft ongoing rhythm of guitar and piano encompasses a raw skin to the song, and I freaking love it.

The visuals of the video itself make it hard to not fall in love with.  We follow lead singer and guitarist Caleb Followill through a very minimal close encounter that takes us on a little short journey. Those piercing blue/green eyes and honest vocals just melt us. And he definitely is a beautiful man! The colors of the falling day in the distance just makes for a beautiful shot. Also, I tend to love basking in emotional music, haha. The song especially  touches me because it resonates with a lot emotions one may feel in their own life or just the fact that a song can become so vulnerable can make it easy to sympathize with.

Watch the music video, peeps! Watch it over and over again, like I do everyday. (kidding. but I do watch it weekly!) On October of 2016, Caleb Followill explained to Entertainment Weekly a little on how the band’s most popular songs came to be. Here’s what he had to say about the single “WALLS,”

“I found that melody on the road, and when I played it during sound check, everyone jumped on, immediately. I had, [sings] “When the walls come down…,” but for the rest I would just mumble. When we got in the studio, I opened my mouth and it just poured out. It’s like a gift from the gods. I was in the right place at the right time and said something that now, I mean, I’m getting texts from everyone like, ‘Man, that song really touched me,’ from big football players to my mom.”
Leave a Reply

